Plough Logo

Shopping Cart

  View Cart



Love Is Like Fire

The Confession of an Anabaptist Prisoner

With an introduction by Stuart Murray

4.23 Stars on Goodreads Read Reviews

A spirited confession of faith by a twenty-three-year-old persecuted Christian in sixteenth-century Austria.

Find at a nearby independent bookstore
Available Formats:
Ebook Once you place your order you will be able to choose from 3 e-book formats: Pdf, Epub and Mobi.

About The Book

A classic testament to religious freedom with a timely message for modern believers, Love Is Like Fire radiates the passion of these early Anabaptists at a time when they were being executed for their commit­ment to believer’s baptism, nonviolence, and the restoration of a church free from political corruption.

Peter Riedemann (1506-1556) was an Anabaptist minister. Stuart Murray, author of The Naked Anabaptist, is a trainer and consultant for church planting and urban mission with the Anabaptist Network. He is based in Bristol, England.

View Table of Contents

Reader Reviews Write a Review

Write a Review

Table of Contents

  • The Love of God
  • The Love of Christ
  • Let Us Love God
  • Let Us Love One Another
  • What Love Is
  • What Faith Is
  • Proclamation of the Word
  • What We Believe about Baptism
  • The Error of Infant Baptism
  • I Believe in God
  • The Fall of Man
  • A Parable
  • I Believe in Jesus Christ
  • What Eating Christ’s Flesh Means
  • The Error of the Mass
  • What We Believe about the Lord’s Supper
  • The Symbols of Bread and Wine
  • Christ’s Practice Versus That of the Antichrist
  • I Believe in the Holy Spirit
  • What We Believe about Marriage
  • How We Should Build Up the House of God and What the House of God Is
  • The Seven Pillars of this House

You May Also Like

cover of called to community book

Called to Community

Eberhard Arnold, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Dorothy Day, Jean Vanier, C. S. Lewis, J. Heinrich Arnold, Johann Christoph Arnold, Christoph Friedrich Blumhardt, Fyodor Dostoyevsky, Richard J. Foster, Søren Kierkegaard, Gerhard Lohfink, Charles E. Moore, George MacDonald, Thomas Merton, Henri J. M. Nouwen and Chiara Lubich
Learn More