Plough My Account Sign Out
My Account
    View Cart

    Subtotal: $


    Between Two Sounds

    Arvo Pärt’s Journey to His Musical Language

    Translated by Adam Cullen

    4.62 Stars on Goodreads Read Reviews

    Coming in September 2024: A graphic novel follows the celebrated Estonian composer through the cultural, political, personal, and spiritual upheavals that led to the distinctive style that made him the most performed living composer in the world.

    Support independent bookstores with your purchase
    Available Formats:
    Ebook Once you place your order you will be able to choose from 2 e-book formats: Epub and Pdf. Buy for $11.99

    About The Book

    Between Two Sounds follows the life of world-famous composer Arvo Pärt from his birth in Estonia in 1935 through 1980, when the Soviets forced him to emigrate because of the nonconformist and religious nature of his music.

    Based on years of research and close collaboration with Arvo Pärt himself, Joonas Sildre paints an atmospheric portrait of a restless artist who does not shy away from confronting state control or his own internal contradictions. 

    Arvo Pärt stormed Soviet-occupied Estonia’s music scene in the 1960s as a brash young man pushing the limits of avant-garde modernism. Then he fell silent, no longer able to express what he felt through the musical language he had inherited. When he reemerged a decade later, he had found, in that silence between sounds, a new musical language inspired by ancient sacred music, the basis of his distinctive tintinnabuli technique. This graphic novel will appeal not just to fans of Arvo Pärt’s music but to anyone who has known the struggle to remain true to oneself whatever the cost.

    Enjoy a Spotify playlist created by the author of the Arvo Pärt compositions featured in the book.


    Reader Reviews Write a Review

    Write a Review