Plough My Account Sign Out
My Account
    View Cart

    Subtotal: $

    Old wooden type on a wooden shelf

    Eloise Jarvis McGraw

    Eloise Jarvis McGraw (1915–2000) was an American author of children's books and young adult novels. Her novels were named Newbery Honor Books three times in three different decades: Moccasin Trail in 1952, The Golden Goblet in 1962, and The Moorchild in 1997. A Really Weird Summer (1977) won an Edgar Award for Best Juvenile Mystery from the Mystery Writers of America, and Moccasin Trail received a Lewis Carroll Shelf Award in 1963. McGraw had a strong interest in history, and among her many books are the historical novels Mara, Daughter of the Nile; Master Cornhill; and The Striped Ships, in addition to Moccasin Trail and The Golden Goblet. She is also the author of the coming-of-age novel Greensleeves and The Seventeenth Swap, a light-hearted tale for younger children. McGraw contributed to the Oz series started by L. Frank Baum. Eloise Jarvis McGraw was married to William Corbin McGraw, and had two children, Peter and Lauren. She lived much of her life in Oregon, where her first novel, Sawdust in His Shoes, is set. 

    Recent Articles

    Browse All Articles