Plough My Account Sign Out
My Account
    View Cart

    Subtotal: $

    Old wooden type on a wooden shelf

    Nikki Grimes

    Nikki Grimes is the author of numerous award-winning books for children and young adults, including Garvey’s Choice (2016), Poems in the Attic (2015), Barack Obama: Son of Promise, Child of Hope (2008), which was a New York Times bestseller and a NAACP Image Award winner; and Bronx Masquerade (2002). Grimes' memoir Ordinary Hazards (Wordsong) was released in 2019. She has received many honors, including the 2003 Coretta Scott King Award, given each year by the American Library Association to an African-American author and illustrator “for outstanding inspirational and educational contributions”; the 2006 National Council of Teachers of English Award for Excellence in Poetry for Children; the 2016 Virginia Hamilton Literary Award; and the 2017 Wilder Medal (now known as the Children’s Literature Legacy Award).  

    Recent Articles

    Browse All Articles