Nonviolence

white dove flying

To be visionaries of peace we need to be contemplatives of nonviolence, people who imagine the God of peace, who let God disarm our hearts, who allow the God of peace to show us the way to peace. As visionaries and contemplatives of peace, we can then become a prophetic people who not only denounce imperial violence as ungodly, immoral, and evil, but announce God's way of nonviolence, justice and peace. – John Dear, S.J.

Books: Nonviolence

Tidings Cover

Tidings

By Ernst Wiechert

A concentration camp survivor, returning home to pick up the shards of his shattered life, finds his own healing and redemption inextricably entwined with that of his betrayer. Rediscover this classic in the tradition of Dostoyevsky and Tolstoy.

Jesus and the Nonviolent Revolution English

Jesus and the Nonviolent Revolution

By André Trocmé

In this book, you’ll encounter a Jesus you may have never met before – a Jesus who not only calls for spiritual transformation, but for practical changes that answer the most perplexing political, economic, and social problems of our time.

Seeking Peace English

Seeking Peace

By Johann Christoph Arnold

Where can we find peace of heart and mind – with ourselves, with others, and with God? Arnold says there is such a peace, but it will demand a relentless pursuit kept up only by hope and courage, vision and commitment. français 한국어 español

Articles: Nonviolence

Archbishop Oscar Romero with two children, one of whom is holding his archbishop's cross in his hand and gazing at it.

An Offering to God

By Colin Fields

This year marks the thirty-fifth anniversary of Archbishop Óscar Romero's assassination – he was gunned down at the altar while saying Mass in San Salvador. Remember Romero by listening to this piece of music he commissioned.

A soldier on duty with a heavy backpack in early dawn light.

Keeping Watch

By Philip Berrigan

Reflecting on Jesus’ exhortation to his disciples to "keep watch," Berrigan is transported back to his days as a young army draftee standing the interminable night watch.

Ernst Wiechert, courtesy of University of Lodz Repository

Reclaiming a Literary Giant

By Daniel Hallock

“It may happen that a nation ceases to distinguish between good and evil,” warned Ernst Wiechert, a German novelist and professor, in a 1935 speech to his students, many of whom were National Socialists.

A headshot of Maryknoll Sister Madeline Dorsey.

Maddie

By Halina King

In 1980 Maryknoll Sister Madeline Dorsey experienced the murder of four co-workers in El Salvador. A young writer interviews her and reflects on Dorsey's seventy-eight years of service. español