Nonviolence

white dove flying

To be visionaries of peace we need to be contemplatives of nonviolence, people who imagine the God of peace, who let God disarm our hearts, who allow the God of peace to show us the way to peace. As visionaries and contemplatives of peace, we can then become a prophetic people who not only denounce imperial violence as ungodly, immoral, and evil, but announce God's way of nonviolence, justice and peace. – John Dear, S.J.

Books: Nonviolence

My God and My All cover

My God and My All

Elizabeth Goudge

The captivating story of the world’s favorite saint is now retold for a modern audience by one of the great novelists of our time.

Tidings Cover

Tidings

Ernst Wiechert

A concentration camp survivor, returning home to pick up the shards of his shattered life, finds his own healing and redemption inextricably entwined with that of his betrayer. Rediscover this classic in the tradition of Dostoyevsky and Tolstoy.

Jesus and the Nonviolent Revolution English

Jesus and the Nonviolent Revolution

André Trocmé

In this book, you’ll encounter a Jesus you may have never met before – a Jesus who not only calls for spiritual transformation, but for practical changes that answer the most perplexing political, economic, and social problems of our time.

Articles: Nonviolence

Detail from a Japanese-style block print of a windswept tree.

The Face of Nonviolence in a Violent Century

Staughton Lynd

What does it mean to advocate nonviolence? The past hundred years were the most violent in history. But this bloody century will also be remembered for the lives of prophets who embraced nonviolence...

Henry David Thoreau, Wikimedia Commons image.

Henry David Thoreau: Spiritual and Prophetic Writings

Erna Albertz

If Thoreau had been nothing more than a naturalist and minimalist, he would be considered great. But nature and simplicity are only the springboard from which he plumbed the depths of the human conscience and its relation to God.

An ink-on-white-paper portrait of Mahatma Gandhi by Xu Beihong.

What Gandhi Taught Me about Jesus

A.C. Oommen

As a young Indian theology student, the author was struck by Gandhi's question, “Where are the Christians that live according to the Bible?” Gandhi felt they could “bring the Christian message of reconciliation” to both Hindus and Muslims...

Photo by Zack Gross © The New Yorker

Kalief Browder’s Ordeal, Our Shame

Sam Hine

Kalief Browder’s story exemplifies the failure of our society toward its young, its poor, its minorities, and its mentally ill. Will he be just another casualty in a litany of injustices, from which we turn away in anger or despair?