Nonviolence

white dove flying

To be visionaries of peace we need to be contemplatives of nonviolence, people who imagine the God of peace, who let God disarm our hearts, who allow the God of peace to show us the way to peace. As visionaries and contemplatives of peace, we can then become a prophetic people who not only denounce imperial violence as ungodly, immoral, and evil, but announce God's way of nonviolence, justice and peace. – John Dear, S.J.

Books: Nonviolence

My God and My All cover

My God and My All

Elizabeth Goudge

The captivating story of the world’s favorite saint is now retold for a modern audience by one of the great novelists of our time.

Tidings Cover

Tidings

Ernst Wiechert

A concentration camp survivor, returning home to pick up the shards of his shattered life, finds his own healing and redemption inextricably entwined with that of his betrayer. Rediscover this classic in the tradition of Dostoyevsky and Tolstoy.

Jesus and the Nonviolent Revolution English

Jesus and the Nonviolent Revolution

André Trocmé

In this book, you’ll encounter a Jesus you may have never met before – a Jesus who not only calls for spiritual transformation, but for practical changes that answer the most perplexing political, economic, and social problems of our time.

Articles: Nonviolence

An illustration of Badshah Khan by artist Jason Landsel.

Badshah Khan

Veery Huleatt

“Nonviolence is not for cowards,” Mahatma Gandhi told his friend Badshah Khan in 1930. “It is for the brave, the courageous.” At the time, they were working shoulder to shoulder – a Hindu and a Muslim – for Indian independence and for peace.

Jonathan Daniels.

Jonathan Daniels

Mike Bell

“Jonathan pulled Ruby from the line of fire and was hit instead. He was dead before he hit the ground. ...” Remembering a forgotten hero of the Civil Rights Movement on the fiftieth anniversary of his death.

The painting Hiroshima Child by Karel Appel.

On (Not) Getting Used to Hiroshima Day

Johann Christoph Arnold

As the seventieth anniversary of Hiroshima approaches, attitudes range mostly from the casual to the ignorant. Have we forgotten its horrors? And how can the ongoing threat of nuclear war – any war – change the way we live in a positive way?

pocket watch

Blessing the Bombs

George Zabelka

The Catholic priest who blessed the bombs dropped on Hiroshima and Nagasaki later worked with Martin Luther King Jr. and came to realize how horribly wrong war is. “There’s no way to conduct war in conformity with the teachings of Jesus.” español