Nonviolence

white dove flying

To be visionaries of peace we need to be contemplatives of nonviolence, people who imagine the God of peace, who let God disarm our hearts, who allow the God of peace to show us the way to peace. As visionaries and contemplatives of peace, we can then become a prophetic people who not only denounce imperial violence as ungodly, immoral, and evil, but announce God's way of nonviolence, justice and peace. – John Dear, S.J.

Books: Nonviolence

Tidings Cover

Tidings

Ernst Wiechert

A concentration camp survivor, returning home to pick up the shards of his shattered life, finds his own healing and redemption inextricably entwined with that of his betrayer. Rediscover this classic in the tradition of Dostoyevsky and Tolstoy.

Jesus and the Nonviolent Revolution English

Jesus and the Nonviolent Revolution

André Trocmé

In this book, you’ll encounter a Jesus you may have never met before – a Jesus who not only calls for spiritual transformation, but for practical changes that answer the most perplexing political, economic, and social problems of our time.

Seeking Peace English

Seeking Peace

Johann Christoph Arnold

Where can we find peace of heart and mind – with ourselves, with others, and with God? Arnold says there is such a peace, but it will demand a relentless pursuit kept up only by hope and courage, vision and commitment. français 한국어 español

Articles: Nonviolence

An ink-on-white-paper portrait of Mahatma Gandhi by Xu Beihong.

What Gandhi Taught Me about Jesus

A.C. Oommen

As a young Indian theology student, the author was struck by Gandhi's question, “Where are the Christians that live according to the Bible?” Gandhi felt they could “bring the Christian message of reconciliation” to both Hindus and Muslims...

Photo by Zack Gross © The New Yorker

Kalief Browder’s Ordeal, Our Shame

Sam Hine

Kalief Browder’s story exemplifies the failure of our society toward its young, its poor, its minorities, and its mentally ill. Will he be just another casualty in a litany of injustices, from which we turn away in anger or despair?

Detail Detail from We Rise! Children, Trauma, and Resilience.

The Future of Christian Nonviolence

Tom Cornell

Activists like Sister Megan Rice have paid a heavy price for Plowshares actions on military bases, and deserve our respect. Have they effected change of heart in their opponents? Are more such actions what we need? Join the discussion...

drawing of prisoner

The Martyrs of Alcatraz

Duane Stoltzfus

Newly-discovered letters from World War I pacifists imprisoned for refusing military service shed fresh light on a long-suppressed chapter of American history – and on the meaning of religious liberty today.